Gold for PCRC Juniors

The British junior rowing championships took place over the weekend at Holme Pierrepoint in Nottingham where crews from all over the country travelled ot compete at this prestigious competition. 
On the Friday the J14 boys double Bert Papworth and Tom calver won a Gold medal by placing first out of 40 crews in the Omnium scoring 1000 points overall, beating York City Rowing Club scoring 984.7 in second.
In the J14 Open singles event Daniel Armstrong did extremely well to place 5th out of over 60 crews, just 12 points away from medalling. Team mate Lucas Niklasson also achieved an impressive score, placing 19th in the event.
Papworth, Calver and Armstrong joined forces with Joe Beesley to compete in a J14 quad coxed by Natalie Bicknell, qualifying for the B final and finished 12th in their category overall.
George Woodall did well in the Open J16 singles, placing 6th in the C Final, just 4 seconds behind a Burton Leander crew. Tom bodily was competing in the same category, and won his D final by 20 seconds, with a time that would’ve placed him 5th in the A final.
Finlay Ribbons and Ross Lamont won their C final, 3 seconds ahead of Isle of Ely Rowing Club. They were just 0.2 seconds away from qualifying for the A/B final. Lucy Ralphs and Natalie Bicknell also reached a C final in the Women’s J16 doubles, finishing 6th and Chloe Reed and Milly Hilton rowed an impressive race in the D final. Georgina Parker and Hannah Basset also had an impressive row, just 3 seconds from qualifying for the C final.
Peterborough crews also did very well at the prestigious Henley Masters Regatta where two Peterborough crews reached the semi final. The Open Masters E composite eight lost out on the final by 2/3 length, and the Open Masters D eight lost out on the final by 1 length.
The D eight was: Steve Tuck, Rob Dennis, Al Ryder, Jim Burt, Paul Glover, Jaish Mahan, Jack Ward, Lyndon Jenkins, Ericha Knowles-Pardoe.
The E eight was: Keith Blackman, Jack Ward, Jim Burt, Bruce Magretts, Dennis Roberts, Al Ryder, Graham Barks, Steve Tuck, Ericha Knowles-Pardoe.