Isle of Ely Head Race

By Sarah Watson

Peterborough crews raced at the Isle of Ely Head on Sunday which took place over 5 kilometres upstream on the River Great Ouse. Despite the cold and wet conditions they did well to come away with 4 wins and 5 second places.

Ella Darrington won the Women’s J18 singles event with an impressive time of 24:31 which was over a minute ahead of second place in her category. She then joined Devonne Piccaver, Alice Dovey and last minute sub Keely Watson to row in a Women’s quad for time only, where they achieved a time of 21:51 which made them the fastest Women’s quad of the day.

Chris Elder and Sarah Watson won the Mixed doubles event with a time of 20:49 which was 1:49 ahead of Deben rowing club in second place. Elder also took second place in the Open singles event with a respectable time of 23:15, over 2 minutes ahead of Huntingdon boat club in third position.

Joshua Seagrave, Ro Knighton, James Marshall, Will Kerry and cox Natasha Cutmore were the fastest crew in the Open coxed fours, achieving a time of 21:16 which made them the fastest four by 1 minute 39 seconds.

Sophie Bicknell, Emily Fitzjohn, Emma Calver and Erin Ansell-Crook won the Women’s J17 coxless quad event, and their club mates Wiktoria Szubzda, Kaia Campo, Neve Davies and Lottie Tasker took second place.

Other second places came from Devonne Piccaver (Women’s J18 single); Bianca Manganiello and Claire Widdowson (Womens doubles) and Anne Grange, Michelle Moulding, Nickie Livett and Audrey Jones (Womens Masters C Coxless quads).

There were also some scullers that rowed for time only due to lack of competition who did exceedingly well. J18 sculler Matt Hand achieved a time of 21:59 in his single making him the third fastest single sculler of the day.

There were also great results in the mens quads, with James Ryder, Sergio Read Moreira Lima, Bert Papworth and Tom Kisby achieving a time of 20:06 in the Open coxless quad making them the second fastest boat of the day, and James Garfield, Harry Evison-Williams, James Goodchild and Nick Bosma achieved a time of 20:45 in the J17 coxless quad.